West Java athlete Tyas Murtiningsih advanced to the finals of the women's 100 m athletics in the PON XX National Games after breaking the PON record in that branch.

Murtiningsih secured a spot in the final match after recording a time of 11.67 seconds during her run, breaking the record of 11.73 seconds achieved by Maluku athlete Irene Truitje Joseph in her 2000 match.

Apart from Murtiningsih, Jakarta sprinter Jeany Nuraini also entered the finals by recording 11.76 seconds, followed by fellow West Java athlete Erna Nuryanti and Bengkulu athlete Hasruni, both clocking a time of 11.77 seconds in the run.

Related news: Izrak Udjulu, new hope for Gorontalo

Olympic sprinter Alvin Tehupeiory also qualified for the final after recording 12.06 seconds in her run despite not being in her best form and needing her coach's assistance to walk after the conclusion of the match.

The last three slots for the final match were secured by Central Java athlete Liviana Rizky, who recorded a run of 12.08 seconds; West Java athlete Raden Roselin Fika, 12.09 seconds; and Papuan athlete Lushinta Burumi, 12.10 seconds.

The women's 100 m sprint final match will be held on Wednesday at 4 p.m. local time (UTC +9).

Related news: Olympics archers Choirunisa-Agatha win recurve event at Papua PON

Apart from the women's 100 m event, the final match for the men's 100 m sprint, men's shot put, women's hammer throw, and women's triple jump will take place on the second day of the athletics match after being opened by the Coordinating Minister for Maritime and Investment Affairs Luhut Binsar Pandjaitan on Tuesday (Oct 5).

The athletics match is scheduled on October 5-14, 2021, at the Mimika Sports Complex and Kuala Kencana Freeport Complex. A total of 138 gold, silver, and bronze medals are up for grabs in the 46 men's and women's athletics branches.

Related news: Some 29 COVID-19 cases in four PON XX clusters conduct self-isolation

Related news: PON XX Papua applies strict bubble to contain COVID-19 spread

Pewarta: KR-NB
Editor: Fardah Assegaf